Acting up!

14 02 2008

Friday was our head teacher’s last day and so it was strange to come in for our in-service day yesterday and not have her there leading us.  I was really sorry to see her go as she has been such a good mentor for me, I have been given so many opportunities to try new things and develop my skills.  Until we get a new head teacher I will acting up as principal teacher, I wish it was going to last longer but it will probably be over by Easter. 

This was an ideal opportunity for me to get this on my CV and I am looking for permanent PT posts but there are not many around, and certainly not within travelling distance.  It is really scary the thought of leaving Castlefield and so that is one reason why I really need to get a move on as much longer here and I might get just to cosy to leave!  Hopefully this will help and with the head teacher gone it might not seem quite such a comfort blanket that I am leaving.

We had swimming first thing this morning – always hectic trying to get them in and the dinners done before leaving.  I love the fact that two of my learning support pupils are in the top group for swimming and are doing really well.

 We got on with our rich task after playtime and I had them working in groups to decide on themes for their stories which they shared with everyone.  I have decided I want their fiction stories to be like books too so we discussed how these would be laid out and what would have to go on the front and back covers and the inside.  They are a bit fed up with their groups now and would prefer to swap for the fiction I think but this defeats some of the purpose of them learning to work together and doing the same self and peer assessment as they did at the beginning so I am sticking to my guns on this one!